Many recognized for conservation work during annual meeting

Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
Brian Rueger of Rueger Farms accepts the Conservation Farmer of the Year Award from board president Tim Hagley. Also pictured is Michigan Agricultural Environmental Assurance Program technician Amanda Brown, who also presented Rueger with a certificate.
Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
Averie Treichel, conservation district administrator Dawn Hergott, Ryder Dittenber and Aidyn Brewer pose for a photo together. Treichel, Dittenber and Brewer won the annual poster contest for their respective divisions, and Treichel placed third in the state contest.
Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
Dr. Ronald Schwab is presented with a state proclamation honoring his lifetime of dedication to the agricultural community by State Rep. Jason Wentworth.
Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
Tim Hagley presents fellow conservation district boardmember Steve Bilacic with a plaque honoring Bilacic’s 38 years on the board. The plaque was surprise announcement made during the annual meeting.
Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
Conservation district board President Tim Hagley presents Dr. Ronald Schwab with an Argicutrual Lifetime Achievement Award.
Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
Conservation district Administrator Dawn Hergott talks about the county’s participation in the DNR’s Hunting Access Program.
Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
Katie Keen of the DNR holds up a black bear paw print that was preserved.
Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
Katie Keen of the Michigan DNR shows a black bear skull during her presentation on the animal.
Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
Board member Steve Bilacic reads off the 2016 tree sale results, including the number of trees sold and monies raised by the sale.
Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
Conservation district board member Dick Dell makes an announcement as the meeting gets under way following dinner.
Tim Barnum/Arenac County Independent
A black bear-themed cake served as dessert turned many heads during the annual meeting.

The efforts of many to preserve Arenac County’s natural resources and agricultural heritage were recognized by the Arenac Conservation District during its annual meeting at the Deep River Township Hall Thursday, Feb. 16. Dr. Ronald Schwab was honored for his work over many years to plant trees in the county and for his dedication to serving farmers by treating farm animals. Lincoln Township farmer Brian Rueger was named the Conservation Farmer of the Year after his operation, Rueger Farms, became the first MAEAP-certified operation in Arenac County. Children who won the conservation district’s poster contest were also announced and received prizes during the event.


Please review our community guidelines before posting

Please keep comments on topic and appropriate for all ages. Remember that people of all ages read our website. Those that are not appropriate will be removed. Please read our full community guidelines before posting.

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Copyright © 2017, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.