New city council members to be sworn in at organizational meeting next week

Council to select member to serve as mayor for coming year


Au GRES — The two newest members of the Au Gres City Council, Robert Proulx and William Borushko, will be sworn in during the city’s organizational meeting May 19.

Proulx and Borushko, both write-in candidates, received 95 and 94 votes, respectively. They will fill two seats being vacated by Mayor Tom Ennes and Clifford Warr, whose terms were expiring. Neither Ennes or Warr filed for re-election.

Borushko and Proulx beat out three other candidates running for the seats — Colleen Rollins, who received 84 votes; Joyce Humerickhouse, who received 81 votes; and Matthew Bussinger, a write-in who received 35 votes.

City Clerk LaVonne Pritchard said during the organizational meeting, council members will select a member to serve as mayor for the year.

“Every year they do this at the organizational meeting,” she said.

After swearing in new members and electing a mayor, the council will conduct its normal May meeting, which was pushed back due to its regular meeting date falling on an election day — May 6.

“Once they get all of that done, and all of the new council members swore in, they’ll go right into their regular May council packet,” she said.


Please review our community guidelines before posting

Please keep comments on topic and appropriate for all ages. Remember that people of all ages read our website. Those that are not appropriate will be removed. Please read our full community guidelines before posting.

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Copyright © 2017, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.