February 6, 2016
Pinconning boys and girls each take second

OHHS sweeps NEMC cross-country meet


STANDISH -- Both the Ogemaw Heights boys and girls teams finished first in the annual North East Michigan Conference Cross-Country Championships, held Saturday, Oct. 24 at the Pine River Golf Course.

The OHHS boys have now won the title four years in a row, while the girls have won it seven-straight conference titles.

The Falcons scored 22 points to take first in the boys race, and 35 points to take first in the girls race.

Pinconning was second in both meets, scoring 43 in the girls' race and 61 in the boys. Bay City John Glenn took third in the boys race with 92 points, Standish-Sterling Central took fourth with 98, and Tawas fifth with 101.

Tawas placed third in the girls race with 70 points, and were led by Emily Short, who won the race in 20:44. SSC finished fourth in the team standings with 90 points, while John Glenn placed fifth with 138 points.

OHHS boys dominated their race, taking five of the top-10 finishes, led by senior Martin Nelkie, who crossed the line first in 17:20 to claim his second straight NEMC individual title.

The Falcons' Brain Valley was second (18:25), Steven Wysocki third (18:39), Casey Taylor seventh (19:20), and Bob Brent ninth (19:49).

In the girls' race, OHHS runners took four of the top-10 finishes, led by Cheyenne St. Andrew's fourth place finish in 22:44. The Falcons' Shiloh St. Andrew was fifth (22:44.1), Andrien Steinhurst seventh (23:39), Jorie Diehl eighth (23:39), and Teya Immel 11th (23:45).

Emily Podgorniak led the Pinconning girls by taking second in 21:55, while Ben Hemstreet led the boys' team by placing fifth in 19:06.

Brandon Dailey led the JG boys by finishing fourth in 18:40, while Samantha Sweet led the Bobcat girls by taking 25th in 26:30.

For SSC, Sara Stanley led the girls team with her ninth place finish in 23:43, while Josh Golimbieski led the boys by placing 14th in 20:40.

Tim Glasgow was the first Tawas runner to cross the line in the boys race, finishing 17th in 20:55.

Following the race the all-NEMC teams were selected.

Boys all-NEMC: First team, Nelkie, Valley, Wysocki, Dailey, Taylor; Second team, Brent, Hemstreet, Gary Farmer (OHHS), Drew Hoder (PINNY), Connor Lange (JG); Honorable mention, Erik VonOosten (OHHS), Jared Grimmer (JG), Nick Brandenburg (SSC), Braidon Benjamin (OHHS), and Pat Eagan (OHHS).

Girls all-NEMC: First team, Short, Podgorniak, Jessica Vidalez (PINNY), Cheyenne St. Andrew, Shiloh St. Andrew; Second team, Steinhurst, Stanley, Immel, Ashley Pickvet (SSC), Shannon McDougall (PINNY); Honorable mention: Diehl, Sweet, Keely Wyatt (OHHS), Chelsea Szyperski (PINNY), Hannah LeForce (OHHS), Heather Britt (TAWAS).

Copyright © 2016, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.