Recall vote May 4

AuGres voters to elect council members



On the ballot for the May 4 election will be the recall of three school board members — Brenda Golimbieski, Kim Koin and Gary McFarland. The recall petition required to put the recall on the ballot collected 2,810 valid signatures, which certified it to be put on the ballot.

Although several reasons were filed for the recall language, a hearing in October 2009 only approved the last statement, which was “Board of Education special meeting held Aug. 18, 2009 — a motion was made and passed, but was ignored and public comment was disallowed in violation of the Board’s Policies and Procedures.”


The AuGres city council will also be holding a non-contested election for positions on the council. Lavern Dittenber and Barbara Griffith are running for the two spots.


Please review our community guidelines before posting

Please keep comments on topic and appropriate for all ages. Remember that people of all ages read our website. Those that are not appropriate will be removed. Please read our full community guidelines before posting.

1 comment on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

"a motion was made and passed" is a mute point. Public comment under the Open Meetings Act is allowed at ALL public meetings. What a cover-up by all board members to hide behind this motion and voting. Shame on all board members for not knowing the act and for participating in the voting on the motion to allow public comment. Double shame on them for the verbiage these board members put on the ballot to justify their postion. Not all are ignorant as they would like to believe!

Not one board member at this meeting had the backbone to state what the Open Meetings Act allowed under the law.

Recall them ALL!

Wednesday, April 28, 2010 | Report this

Copyright © 2018, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.