Voters make decision on local issues and school boards



ARENAC COUNTY — County voters have voted, and decisions have been made on several issues in the general election held Tuesday, Nov. 2.

The partisan ballot for the Arenac County Road Commission was won by Republican Kenneth Stawowy who had 3,198 votes, defeating Democrat Raymond Gulvas. In other partisan races, Democrat Michael A. Oxley ran unopposed for a partial term as AuGres Township clerk, ending in 2012, and Republican Janis J. Howard ran unopposed for a partial term as Sims Township Trustee, ending in 2012.

Probate Court Judge Richard E. Vollbach also ran unopposed for that position.

In school-related elections, there were three seats up for grabs on the Arenac Eastern Board of Education, but two candidates ran for those seats. Ann Brown and Kathleen Clark both ran unopposed for two four-year terms on the board.

Also, Arenac Eastern voters passed an 18-mill non-homestead operating millage renewal proposal.

Voters in the AuGres Sims school district were asked to fill five seats on the AuGres Sims Board of Education in the election. Nancy Selle and Doug Furtah ran unopposed for two six-year terms on the board, and Bret Dieleman and Heather Garry ran unopposed for two four-year terms on the board. Meanwhile, Timothy M. Kubik lost to Heather Caulfield for the one two-year term on the board.

As with Arenac Eastern residents, AuGres Sims voters were asked to vote on an 18-mill non-homestead operating millage renewal proposal. This proposal also passed.

Standish-Sterling voters chose between six candidates to fill three seats on the board. Ronald Bartlett and Kim Belchak defeated Patricia Kipfmiller for the two four-year seats on the board, while Sarah Brandenberg and Allen Schmidt were defeated by Megan Dickhausen for the one two-year seat on the board.

Whittemore-Prescott Area Schools voters had to fill four seats on the board. Gary L. Gillings defeated Troy Bronson, and Lynn Mervyn for the six-year seat on the board receiving 693 votes. Chris Daniels and Jeanna MacDonald won two four-year terms on the board, defeating Bryan L. Allen, Cathy Blust, and Billie Jo Stone. Brenda Eymer won a two-year term on the board, unseating incumbent David W. Hoffman, and defeating Kathleen A. Sinelli and Pete W. Skacal.

In three local village elections, all of the candidates ran unopposed for their respective positions.

In Sterling village, those candidates are: James Hazeltine, village president; Lisa Bellor, village clerk; Curtis Reed Albrecht, treasurer; Lisa Albrecht and Edward Goodroe for two four-year seats on the village council; and Jim Blair for one two-year term on the council

In Turner village, those candidates are: Charles DeRemer, village president; Yolanda Miracle, village clerk; Robert B. Miracle, village treasurer; and Ronald Miracle and Larry Fields for two seats on the village council.

In Twining village, those candidates are: Todd R. Forshee, village president; Carol A. Norton, village clerk; Carrie L. Stodolak, village treasurer; Gloria Rittenburg and Donald Ferguson, village trustees; and Steven F. Kramer II, partial term as village trustee, ending Dec. 31, 2012.

Turner Township voters chose to pass a fire millage during the election. Voters also chose to not pass two county proposals. The first proposal was a proposal to provide funds for operating purposes for the County of Arenac and the Townships and the Bay Arenac Intermediate School District. The second proposal was a proposal to levy 0.1 mills for a period of next five years for the purpose of operation, acquisition, maintenance and improving of the county parks.?


Please review our community guidelines before posting

Please keep comments on topic and appropriate for all ages. Remember that people of all ages read our website. Those that are not appropriate will be removed. Please read our full community guidelines before posting.

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Copyright © 2018, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.